You are here

Museum News: Gala Events Nationwide



Editor Seth Masia
Managing Editor Greg Ditrinco
Consulting Editor Cindy Hirschfeld
Art Director Edna Baker

Editorial Board
Seth Masia, Chairman
John Allen, Andy Bigford, John Caldwell, Jeremy Davis, Kirby Gilbert, Paul Hooge, Jeff Leich, Bob Soden, Ingrid Wicken

Founding Editors 
Morten Lund, Glenn Parkinson

To preserve skiing history and to increase awareness of the sport’s heritage

ISHA Founder 
Mason Beekley, 1927–2001

ISHA Board of Directors

Rick Moulton, Chairman
Seth Masia, President
Wini Jones, Vice President
Jeff Blumenfeld, Vice President
John McMurtry, Vice President
Bob Soden (Canada), Treasurer

Richard Allen, Skip Beitzel, Michael Calderone, Dick Cutler, Wendolyn Holland, Ken Hugessen (Canada), David Ingemie, Joe Jay Jalbert, Henri Rivers, Charles Sanders, Einar Sunde, Christof Thöny (Austria), Ivan Wagner (Switzerland)

Presidential Circle
Christin Cooper, Billy Kidd, Jean-Claude Killy, Bode Miller, Doug Pfeiffer, Penny Pitou, Nancy Greene Raine

Executive Director
Janet White

Membership Services 
Fawn Montanye
(802) 367-3408

Corporate Sponsorships 
Peter Kirkpatrick
(541) 944-3095


Bimonthly journal and official publication of the International Skiing History Association (ISHA)

Partners: U.S. Ski and Snowboard Hall of Fame | Canadian Ski Museum and Hall of Fame

Alf Engen Ski Museum | North American Snowsports Journalists Association | Swiss Academic Ski Club


Skiing History (USPS No. 16-201, ISSN: 23293659) is published bimonthly by the International Skiing History Association, P.O. Box 1064, Manchester Center, VT 05255.
Periodicals postage paid at Manchester Center, VT and at additional mailing offices. Postmaster: Send address changes to ISHA, P.O. Box 1064, Manchester Center, VT 05255

ISHA is a 501(c)(3) public charity. EIN: 06-1347398

Written permission from the editor is required to reproduce, in any manner, the contents of Skiing History, either in full or in part.

Museum News: Gala Events Nationwide

News from the New England Ski Museum, U.S. Hall of Fame and Bob Beattie Foundation.

25th Running of the Hannes Schneider Meister Cup Race

After a year’s hiatus due to Covid, the Hannes Schneider Meister Cup Race returned to Cranmore Mountain Resort in North Conway, New Hampshire, on March 4 to 6. After a Friday evening reception and dinner, New Hampshire Governor Chris Sununu led Saturday’s Opening Ceremony by honoring Cranmore owner Brian Fairbank, who would be inducted into the U.S. Ski and Snowboard Hall of Fame that evening at the OMNI Mount Washington Hotel. There followed two runs of a dual GS format team competition, a silent auction, a fashion show featuring vintage skiwear, an awards ceremony and a Sunday morning breakfast with ski history presentation—were held in superb weather and snow conditions.

Twenty-eight teams of five competed, as well as a handful of individuals whose teams did not fill up. In tribute to the 10th Mountain Division, six of those teams were active-duty or retired military teams trained in mountain operations. The race was founded in 1996 as a benefit for the New England Ski Museum. —Jeff Leich

(Photo above: The team from Eastern Mountain Sports won the 2022 edition of the Schneider Meister Cup race. Left to right: Marcus Schneider, Kamden Burke (also fastest man in the race), Carter Tasker, Trevor Tasker, Keegan Burke, Tim Simoneau, Hannes Schneider. Fastest woman was Olympian Leanne Smith. Marcus and Hannes are great-grandsons of Arlberg School founder Hannes Schneider.)

Hall of Fame Bretton Woods Induction

The U.S. Ski & Snowboard Hall of Fame on March 5 inducted Seth Wescott, Barbara Alley Simon, Howard Peterson, Holly Flanders, Brian Fairbank and Kristean Porter. Also inducted was Sherman Poppen (deceased).

Art Clay and Ben Finley. Tyler Macleod

Hall of fame Sun Valley Induction

On March 26, the Hall of Fame inducted Hank Tauber, Greg Stump, Johnny Spillane, James Niehues, Kit DesLauriers, Art Clay and Ben Finley and Scott Brooksbank. Bobby Burns was also inducted.

(Photo left) At Sun Valley, Art Clay (left) and Ben Finley were inducted into the Hall of Fame, Class of 2019. In 1973, the duo organized a holiday in Aspen for 13 Black ski clubs; the following year they founded the National Brotherhood of Skiers, which today coordinates 54 ski clubs with more than 3,500 members. The NBS Summit drew 1,200 skiers to Snowmass, February 5-12, 2022.


Spider Sabich induction at Snowmass

Right: The Hall of Fame and Bob Beattie Foundation staged a special induction ceremony on April 8 for Spider Sabich. Left to right: Justin Koski intones the official induction, while Spider’s daughter Missy Greis waits to receive the Hall of Fame Medal of Honor from Mike Hundert. The evening featured a showing of the limited-release one-hour film Spider Lives!, produced by the Bob Beattie Foundation.




BerkshireEast/Catamount Mountain Resorts
Warren and Laurie Miller 
Sport Obermeyer 


Fairbank Group: Bromley, Cranmore, Jiminy Peak
Hickory & Tweed 
Snowsports Merchandising Corporation 

WORLD CUP ($1,000)

Aspen Skiing Company
Bogner of America 
Boyne Resorts 
Dale of Norway 
Darn Tough Vermont
Gordini USA Inc/Kombi LTD 
Head Wintersports
Intuition Sports
Mammoth Mountain 
Marker/Völkl USA 
National Ski Areas Association
North Carolina Ski Areas Association
Outdoor Retailer 
Ski Area Management 
Ski Country Sports 
Sports Specialists Ltd
Sugar Mountain Resort 
Sun Valley Resort
Vintage Ski World
World Cup Supply


Larson's Ski & Sports
Race Place/Beast Tuning Tools
The Ski Company (Rochester NY)


Alta Ski Area 
Boden Architecture PLLC 
Dalbello Sports
Deer Valley 
EcoSign Mountain Resort Planners 
Fera International
Holiday Valley Resort
Hotronic USA/Wintersteiger
Masterfit Enterprises
McWhorter Driscoll LLC
Metropolitan New York Ski Council 
Mt. Bachelor 
New Jersey Ski & Snowboard Council
Russell Mace Vacation Homes
Scott Sports
Seirus Innovations 
Ski Utah
Snowbird Ski & Summer Resort
Steamboat Ski & Resort Corp
Sundance Mountain Resort
Swiss Academic Ski Club
Tecnica Group USA 
Timberline Lodge and Ski Area
Trapp Family Lodge
Wendolyn Holland
Western Winter Sports Reps Association
World Pro Ski Tour
Yellowstone Club

Member Already? Sign in.

Member Already? Sign in.