ISHA Events & Awards

Upcoming Events

March 5, 2022: Hannes Schneider Meister Cup
North Conway, NH

March 5, 2022: US Ski and Snowboard Hall of Fame Induction East
Breton Woods, NH

March 24, 2022: ISHA Awards Banquet
Skiing History Week, March 23 to 27, 2022

Sun Valley, Idaho
Check back on this page for program and ticketing information.


March 26, 2022: US Ski and Snowboard Hall of Fame Induction West
Sun Valley, Idaho




2021 ISHA Awards were presented April 29, 2021

See 2021 ISHA Awards video here.

See 2020 Awards Program video here.

The 29th Annual ISHA Awards, originally scheduled for Snowmass in late March, were instead presented online on April 29, 2021. An 80-minute video of the ceremony, with short speeches by each of the award winners, is now available for viewing (see the link at the top of this page).

We plan to resume our Skiing History Week activities in March, 2022, at Sun Valley. In addition to lectures, historic film screenings plus ski and social gatherings, the highlight event of ISHA’s Skiing History Week each year is the ISHA Awards reception and banquet. Award winners from around the globe are honored for their published ski histories, films and videos, broadcasts, websites and other media and lifetime achievements. The awards have been presented since 1993. 

For more information on this year’s awardees, visit ISHA Award Winners 2021. ISHA’s partner in staging Skiing History Week, the U.S. Ski & Snowboard Hall of Fame, has also opted to host their 2021 events virtually. 


Scroll down to learn more about the ISHA Awards.

ISHA chairman John Fry, who founded NASTAR in 1968, presents an award to Bill Madsen, who has led the national recreational racing program for more than 25 years. ISHA held its annual awards banquet in Squaw Valley during the 2018 NASTAR finals and 50th anniversary celebration.

Longtime ski journalist Peter Shelton won an Ullr Award — his second — for Tracks in the Snow.

A delegation traveled to Squaw Valley from China to accept a Lifetime Achievement Award for Shan Zhaojian (center), China’s leading ski historian.

The ISHA Awards, first established in 1993, honor outstanding creative works of ski history. The awards are presented to book authors, journalists, filmmakers, academicians, website developers, and other media publishers. The ISHA Awards are presented every year in a different ski town; in recent years, the banquet has been held in Park City (2019), Squaw Valley (2018), Stowe (2017), Aspen (2016) and Steamboat (2015). Because of Covid19 restrictions, the 2020 and 2021 Awards were presented online.

The awards are presented for work published or formally completed before the end of the preceding calendar year, and nominations are due in early December. 

ISHA Awards are presented in the following categories, though not every category is honored every year:

Lifetime Achievement Award: Presented for contributions over a substantial period of time to ski history, ski journalism, photography, film, radio or television.

Ullr Award: Presented for a single outstanding contribution or several contributions to skiing’s historical record in published book form.

Skade Award: Presented for an outstanding work on regional ski history or for an outstanding work published in book form that is focused in part on ski history.

Baldur Award: Presented for an outstanding work of general interest that sheds significant light on an aspect of skiing history.

Film or Photography Award: Presented for outstanding contribution to the historical record of skiing in photographic or film/digital form.

Curatorial Award: Presented for outstanding work in curating a nationally recognized ski museum through its exhibits and publications.

Cyber Award: Presented for creating a Website that contributes substantially to the preservation, distribution, and expansion of skiing’s historical record.

Service Award: Presented for outstanding work over a substantial period of time with an organization engaged in the creation and preservation of skiing’s historical record.

Special Award: Presented for outstanding contribution to the historical record outside the above categories.

Click here for a list of all ISHA Annual Award winners, 1993 to 2020

The Jury

The jury for the 2019 ISHA Awards, to be presented in December 2020, consisted of

  • Rick Moulton, ski film historian, ISHA Board of Directors
  • John Fry (1930-2020), author of The Story of Modern Skiing, ISHA Chairman
  • Einar Sunde, ski bibliophile, ISHA Secretary

Following John Fry's death, Bob Soden has joined the committee in his place. Bob is a lifelong skier, historian and bibliophile, a longtime member of the ISHA Board of Directors. Coincidentally, he grew up in John Fry's neighborhood in Montreal. 

To learn more about the ISHA Awards, or to inquire about submitting a work for consideration, please contact the ISHA office at 802.362.1667 or email

Awards Program Seeks Sponsor

The International Skiing History Association seeks financial support for its program of annual awards to authors, filmmakers, and preservers of the sport’s history. The Awards program is ideal for a foundation, company, or individual wishing to identify their deep and lasting love of skiing. Support can take the form of an endowment yielding sufficient income to support the program permanently, or a multi-year commitment of funding. ISHA is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization, making gifts tax-deductible.