You are here

ISHA News: International Attendance at ISHA Awards Banquet



Editor Seth Masia
Managing Editor Greg Ditrinco
Consulting Editor Cindy Hirschfeld
Art Director Edna Baker

Editorial Board
Seth Masia, Chairman
John Allen, Andy Bigford, John Caldwell, Jeremy Davis, Kirby Gilbert, Paul Hooge, Jeff Leich, Bob Soden, Ingrid Wicken

Founding Editors 
Morten Lund, Glenn Parkinson

To preserve skiing history and to increase awareness of the sport’s heritage

ISHA Founder 
Mason Beekley, 1927–2001

ISHA Board of Directors

Rick Moulton, Chairman
Seth Masia, President
Wini Jones, Vice President
Jeff Blumenfeld, Vice President
John McMurtry, Vice President
Bob Soden (Canada), Treasurer

Richard Allen, Skip Beitzel, Michael Calderone, Dick Cutler, Wendolyn Holland, Ken Hugessen (Canada), David Ingemie, Joe Jay Jalbert, Henri Rivers, Charles Sanders, Einar Sunde, Christof Thöny (Austria), Ivan Wagner (Switzerland)

Presidential Circle
Christin Cooper, Billy Kidd, Jean-Claude Killy, Bode Miller, Doug Pfeiffer, Penny Pitou, Nancy Greene Raine

Executive Director
Janet White

Membership Services 
Fawn Montanye
(802) 367-3408

Corporate Sponsorships 
Peter Kirkpatrick
(541) 944-3095


Bimonthly journal and official publication of the International Skiing History Association (ISHA)

Partners: U.S. Ski and Snowboard Hall of Fame | Canadian Ski Museum and Hall of Fame

Alf Engen Ski Museum | North American Snowsports Journalists Association | Swiss Academic Ski Club


Skiing History (USPS No. 16-201, ISSN: 23293659) is published bimonthly by the International Skiing History Association, P.O. Box 1064, Manchester Center, VT 05255.
Periodicals postage paid at Manchester Center, VT and at additional mailing offices. Postmaster: Send address changes to ISHA, P.O. Box 1064, Manchester Center, VT 05255

ISHA is a 501(c)(3) public charity. EIN: 06-1347398

Written permission from the editor is required to reproduce, in any manner, the contents of Skiing History, either in full or in part.

ISHA News: International Attendance at ISHA Awards Banquet

International Attendance at ISHA Awards Banquet

ISHA’s 30th Annual Awards Banquet, held March 23 at the Sun Valley Inn, welcomed ski historians from Canada, the United Kingdom and Austria, plus New England, Colorado, Wyoming, Seattle and California. Photos by David Moulton.

Jeff Leich with Rick

Jeff Leich (left), retiring executive director of the New England Ski Museum, received a Lifetime Achievement Award for research, writing and museum stewardship.

Lowell Skoog with
Seth Masia

Lowell Skoog received his second ISHA Award from ISHA President Seth Masia. This award is for Written in the Snows: Across Time on Skis in the Pacific Northwest.






Ingrid Christophersen

Ingrid Christophersen received an Ullr Award for To Heaven’s Heights: An Anthology of Skiing in Literature. A retired ski coach and FIS delegate, she travelled from her farm near Brighton, England. ISHA Chairman Rick Moulton presents the trophy.


Chic Scott

Mountaineer Chic Scott won a Skade Award, plus the first John Fry Award for Excellence, for his book Mount Assiniboine: The Story. He travelled from Banff, Alberta.




Knaus, Ravanelli

Producer Marcus Knaus and screenwriter Allesandra Ravanelli received an award for their film 120 Years Ski Club Arlberg. They travelled 5,500 miles from Vienna to join us. Their next project: a video biography of Hannes Schneider.


Vintage fashions. Bernie Weichsel photo


Before the awards banquet, ISHA Vice President Wini Jones staged a raucous vintage fashion show. Participants included (left to right) Bill Sanesh, Terri Smith, Wini Jones, Bryce James, Dave Valenti, Taylor Valenti, Susan Crist, Juli Webb and James Sunstad. Mike Vowels in front. Not shown: Janet White.


BerkshireEast/Catamount Mountain Resorts
Warren and Laurie Miller 
Sport Obermeyer 


Fairbank Group: Bromley, Cranmore, Jiminy Peak
Hickory & Tweed 
Snowsports Merchandising Corporation 

WORLD CUP ($1,000)

Aspen Skiing Company
Bogner of America 
Boyne Resorts 
Dale of Norway 
Darn Tough Vermont
Gordini USA Inc/Kombi LTD 
Head Wintersports
Intuition Sports
Mammoth Mountain 
Marker/Völkl USA 
National Ski Areas Association
North Carolina Ski Areas Association
Outdoor Retailer 
Ski Area Management 
Ski Country Sports 
Sports Specialists Ltd
Sugar Mountain Resort 
Sun Valley Resort
Vintage Ski World
World Cup Supply


Larson's Ski & Sports
Race Place/Beast Tuning Tools
The Ski Company (Rochester NY)


Alta Ski Area 
Boden Architecture PLLC 
Dalbello Sports
Deer Valley 
EcoSign Mountain Resort Planners 
Fera International
Holiday Valley Resort
Hotronic USA/Wintersteiger
Masterfit Enterprises
McWhorter Driscoll LLC
Metropolitan New York Ski Council 
Mt. Bachelor 
New Jersey Ski & Snowboard Council
Russell Mace Vacation Homes
Scott Sports
Seirus Innovations 
Ski Utah
Snowbird Ski & Summer Resort
Steamboat Ski & Resort Corp
Sundance Mountain Resort
Swiss Academic Ski Club
Tecnica Group USA 
Timberline Lodge and Ski Area
Trapp Family Lodge
Wendolyn Holland
Western Winter Sports Reps Association
World Pro Ski Tour
Yellowstone Club

Member Already? Sign in.

Member Already? Sign in.